Double Dump

2 Aug

So, I’m dating this guy and things are going well, except that I seem to be way more into sex than he is.  It’s not that he’s not into getting off, he just seems to be not into sex.  I am dating the everything but guy.

We’ve been seeing each other for a month, and one night we go to dinner.  From the get go, he’s kind of cold.  The night predictably wears on…pizza, small talk, back to my apartment…and he’s going home.  Not even an everything but.

We’d discussed going to a show that coming weekend, but he doesn’t contact me and I don’t try to call him.  Finally, the night of the show, he calls.

Him: “I know I’ve been acting a little weird lately…”

We have a strange conversation about how sex is an important ingredient in a romantic relationship for me, and how if he’s not into that, then lets not try to do this.  It ends with him saying he doesn’t think he can give me that.

It’s over.

A week passes, we have no contact and I’m pretty much over it.

Then I get a text from him:  “Hey! Are you home?”

Me: “Did you mean to send that to me?”

Him: “Yea, I wanted to call you if you’re home.”

Me: “Ok, I’m home.”

He calls.  He just wanted to let me know (again) that he’s put a lot of thought into it and he doesn’t think that he can give me what I want in this relationship.  He’s really sorry and hopes we can ride bikes together sometime.  I was double dumped.

 

 

One Response to “Double Dump”

  1. Jenna August 2, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    So simple, yet so poignant.

Leave a Reply

